The WA players to watch at the Australian PGA Championship

21st Nov 2023

Australian PGA Championship 2023

Fourteen WA golfers will be vying for glory at the big-money Fortinet Australian PGA Championship, which tees off at Royal Queensland Golf Club on Thursday.

With a prize purse of $2,000,000, the DP World Tour co-sanctioned event represents an outstanding opportunity for PGA Tour of Australasia regulars to earn a bumper payday and a host of world ranking points.

Headlining the WA challenge is Min Woo Lee, fresh from guaranteeing himself full playing rights on the PGA Tour in 2024 and a 10th-place finish on the DP World Tour’s season-ending Order of Merit.

At 45th in the world, Lee is the highest-ranked WA golfer in the field at Royal Queensland, with only three other Aussies – Cam Smith, Jason Day and Cam Davis – above him in the OWGR.

After another solid year on the DP World Tour, Jason Scrivener will be hoping to go one better at this year’s Aus PGA after finishing second to Cam Smith on the same course in 2022.

Scrivener secured three top-10 finishes on tour in the 2022-23 season and finished the year in 67th position on the DP World Tour Order of Merit.

Australian PGA Championship

WA’s Jason Scrivener finished second to Cam Smith at last year’s Aus PGA Championship


With the majority of the WA contingent plying their trade on the local tour, it will be intriguing to see how Korn Ferry Tour regular Curtis Luck fares on Australian soil.

The former amateur sensation had two top-10s on the PGA Tour feeder circuit this year – including a runner-up finish at the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Championship in late September – on his way to a top-50 finish in the points list.

Buoyed by his recent success in landing a DP World Tour card at Q-School, Haydn Barron could also be a dark horse although he did miss the cut in the 2022 event.

The Australian PGA Championship will be broadcast live on Nine and Fox Sports. You’ll be able to follow live scores here.

WA players at the Australian PGA Championship

Min Woo Lee; Jason Scrivener; Connor McKinney; Curtis Luck; Brett Rumford; Braden Becker; Jarryd Felton; Haydn Barron; Michael Sim; Hayden Hopewell; Ben Ferguson, Scott Strange; Josh Greer; Brady Watt

Images: Getty Images