Kingsway reign supreme at Kwinana

23rd Oct 2018

Kingsway Christian College are finally the team to beat in Secondary School golf.

The College north of Perth captured their maiden title on Monday after pleasant conditions greeted a strong field at the School Sports WA GolfWA Secondary Schools Championship at Kwinana Golf Club.

Jorja Geyer and Josh Hewton combined to clinch the title after scoring an impressive 77 points across 18 holes at the challenging course, with the powerhouse of Como Secondary College unable to challenge the leaders.

Como continued their dominance of the tournament, finishing second and third in the race for the title. The college has ruled secondary golf for more than a decade, taking 10 of the last 15 titles during competition.

Cody Taylor, Jordan Tueno and Sean Ball were desperately unlucky finishing just one point behind the eventual leaders with 76 points, while Deryn Evans and the Gwinnut sisters finished a further four shots back on 72 points.

The event showcases some of the state’s best and brightest with 114 entrants across 35 schools participating in the competitive but fun-filled environment.

Sammy Operchal (Guildford Grammar School) and Kathryn Norris (Mandurah Catholic College) joined the likes of Minjee Lee and Curtis Luck as winners of the overall gross winners, with the pair claiming 34 points each.

Kathryn Norris

Como Secondary School’s Ben Kelly proved too strong in the Year 12 division, securing the medal with 36 points ahead of Operchal on 35.

Brooke Price (Swan Anglican) continued her impressive winter with victory in the Year 11 category, claiming 36 points ahead of Hayden Symington (CBC) on 35 points.

Sean Ball completed a terrific day for himself and Como, winning the Year 10 medal on 37 points. Talented youngsters Gareth Steyn (Kingsway CC) and Ethan Lim (Willetton SHS) weren’t far behind on 35 and 34 points respectively

Jayden Fong (Willetton SHS) and Carter Forman (Rockingham SHS) took out the Year 7 and 8 medals with fantastic rounds of 41 and 40 points. Jorja Geyer capped off her great day with a win in the Year 9 division with a tournament-high 45 points.

After the event the teams were presented for the upcoming School Sport National Championships, which are to be played in Coffs Harbour from August 26-31.

Boys’ Team: Jordan Jung (Como Secondary College) (c), Hong bin Wong (Willetton SHS), Aaron Hall (Rossmoyne Senior High School), Ethan Lim (Willetton SHS), Brayden Jones (Chisholm Catholic College), Lucas Ferri (Scotch College)

Girls Team: Natalja Brennan (Mater Dei College), Paris Rive (Peter Moyes Anglican Community School), Mai Julius (Como Secondary College), Ruby Fry (Carine Senior High School), Hayley Carter (St Marys Anglican School)