Teasdale earns Aussie call-up for Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific

12th Jan 2024

Teasdale Women's Amateur Asia Pacific

By: Neal Maidment/Golf Australia

Royal Fremantle’s Abbie Teasdale has been recalled by Australia and will line up for her nation in February’s Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific (WAAP) in Thailand.

The 72-hole stroke play tournament takes place at Siam Country Club from February 1-4, with 21-year-old Teasdale one of six players in the Australian team. It will be her second appearance at the event, after she made her Australian debut at the 2023 WAAP.

The last 12 months have seen Teasdale excel at home and overseas, winning several significant amateur titles including The Concord Cup, The Women’s Amateur Championship of WA and The English Women’s Strokeplay Championship.

She also reached the final stage of Ladies’ European Tour Qualifying School, which took place in Morocco in December, and is a long-time member of the GolfWA High Performance Program.

Teasdale will compete alongside Sarah Hammett (Qld), Justice Bosio (Qld), Caitlin Peirce (SA), Jazy Roberts (Vic) and Annika Rathbone (NSW) in this year’s Australia team – and she cannot wait to get started.

“I’m really excited about being selected as it’s always an honour to represent Australia,” Teasdale told GolfWA. “My game is a lot better than it was last year as I’ve been working hard in the gym to increase my swing speed, and hitting it a bit further has made golf feel a bit easier. I’ve also had a lot of international experience now, so I know what to expect and how to handle it.”

2023 Aus Women's Amateur Asia-Pacific team

From left, Sarah Hammett, Caitlin Peirce, Jazy Roberts, Annika Rathbone, Justice Bosio and Abbie Teasdale


There is no shortage of incentives for players to produce their best golf at the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific, with the champion receiving invitations to play in three Major Championships in 2024: the AIG Women’s Open, Amundi Evian Championship and the Chevron Championship.

In addition, they will also be invited to the Korean LPGA Tour’s Hana Financial Group Championship, ISPS Handa Australian Open, The 121st Women’s Amateur Championship and The Augusta National Women’s Amateur.

No Australian has won the WAAP since its inception in 2018, with Kelsey Bennett’s runner-up finish in 2021 being the best result. Caitlin Peirce was the best-placed Australian in 2023 in a tie for 13th place.

Read profiles of the Australian team here.

You’ll be able to keep up with Abbie’s progress in the WAAP via the GolfWA news section and our Facebook and Insta accounts. You can also subscribe to our monthly e-newsletter here.