Record field defy weather at Mount Lawley

16th Aug 2017

Como Secondary College reclaimed the champion school trophy after a record field braved the wind and rain at the School Sports WA GolfWA Secondary Schools Championships on Monday.

Como has a proud history in the event – built on the school’s acclaimed golfing programme – and etched their name on the winner’s shield for the 10th time in the past 15 years and for the first time since 2014.

Jordan Tueno, Nigel Webb and Tewi Webb – who are all also Gosnells Golf Club members – claimed the honours after scoring an impressive 80 points in the tough conditions at Mount Lawley Golf Course.

Como Secondary College: Tewi Webb, Jordan Tueno, Nigel Webb (L-R)

St Hilda’s Lara Donaldson and Chloe Kam showed their ability as they finished just a point behind to take second place – and the title as the leading independent school – while Comet Bay College’s Katie Robson, Jaxon Throne and Paterson Grove were third with 76 points.

Despite the inclement weather there were record 132 entrants with 42 schools represented at an event that continues to showcase some of the state’s upcoming talent in a competitive but also fun environment.

Curtis Luck and Minjee Lee won the boys and girls open title just five years ago and Jordan Jung (Como SHS, 33pts) and Eve Cohen (John XXIII College, 38 pts) added their names to that honour roll with wins in the boys’ and girls’ overall gross events respectively.

In addition to helping St Hilda’s claimed the Independent School award, Kam fired a remarkable 44 points to win the Year 11 medal ahead of Robson and Cohen.

Jacob Orley (St Mark’s) won the Year 12 event, on a countback from Seton College’s Marc Barnesby-Buie, while Brayden Jones (Chisholm) used his local knowledge to claim the Year 10 medal.

Como duo Tewi Webb and Jordan Tueno finished the day with a couple of medals after they both scored 40 points to win the Year Nine and Year Eight awards.

Ian Pienaar (Lake Joondalup) claimed a notable second place in the Year Eight event after he was hit in the knee by a stray ball during his round but soldiered on.

Cooper Richards (Armadale) won in the Year Seven age group after carding 37 points.

St Hilda’s ASG: Lara Donaldson and Chloe Kam (L-R)

After the event the event the squads were named for the upcoming School Sport National Championships, which are to be played at the Pacific School Games in Adelaide from December 2-9.

Girls Under-17s team: Alice Chang (Como Secondary College), Eve Cohen (John XXIII College), Lara Donaldson (St Hilda’s ASG), Ariel Hopewell (Como Secondary College), Madison Large (Prendiville Catholic College), Brooke Price (Swan Valley ACS). Non-travelling reserve : Grace Operchal (Perth College)

Boys team: Josh Hererro (Halls Head College), Reuben Darch (Kennedy Baptist College), Sammy Operchal (Guilford Grammar Schoool), Jordan Jung (Como Secondary College), Thomas Patterson (Scotch College), Silvester Tan (Como Secondary College). Non-travelling reserve: Carter Mealing (Kinross College).


  • Winning School: Como Secondary College 1 – Jordan Tueno, Nigel Webb, Tewi Webb (80 points); St Hilda’s ASG – Lara Donaldson, Chloe Kam (79 pts); Comet Bay College – Katie Robson, Jaxon Throne, Paterson Grove (76 pts).
  • Leading Independent School: St Hilda’s ASG – Chloe Kam, Lara Donaldson (79 pts).
  • Overall Gross: Boys – Jordan Jung (Como SC, 33 pts); Girls – Eve Cohen (John XXIII College, 38 pts).
  • Year 12: Jacob Orley (St Mark’s ACS, 38 pts); Marc Barnesby-Buie (Seton College, 38 pts); Paterson Grove (Comet Bay College, 36 pts).
  • Year 11: Chloe Kam (St Hilda’s ASG, 44 pts); Katie Robson (Comet Bay College, 40 pts); Eve Cohen (John XXIII College, 38 pts).
  • Year 10: Brayden Jones (Chisholm CC, 37 pts); Jamie Porteous (Kinross, 36 pts); Michael Herbst (Kingsway, 34 pts).
  • Year 9: Tewi Webb (Como SC, 40 pts); Paris Rive (Peter Moyes ACS, 38pts); Charlie Gwinnutt (Como SC, 38 pts).
  • Year 8: Jordan Tueno (Como SC, 40 pts); Ian Pienaar (Lake Joondalup BC, 34 pts); Chase Behrens (Kingsway, 34 pts).
  • Year 7: Cooper Richards (Armadale, 37pts); Allies Potgieter (Kingsway, 35 pts), Josiah Lim (Leeming SHS, 34 pts).