Maddison Hinson-Tolchard receives Karrie Webb Scholarship

28th Mar 2023

WA’s Maddison Hinson-Tolchard is one of two recipients of the 2023 Karrie Webb Scholarship, alongside Queenslander Justice Bosio.

The annual scholarships are awarded based on performance in the Karrie Webb Series, the World Amateur Golf Rankings, community work inside or outside of golf, and acting as an ambassador for golf in Australia and overseas.

Hinson-Tolchard and Bosio are currently Australia’s highest-ranked female amateur golfers and the pair will spend a week under Webb’s tutelage at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship in New Jersey this June. Webb will provide ongoing mentoring to the pair, while they will also receive funding to cover travel to play in overseas tournaments this year.

Aged 21, Hinson-Tolchard is majoring in applied exercise science at Oklahoma State University while she plays collegiate golf. At the time of writing, she is ranked 68th in the World Amateur Golf Rankings.

The Gosnells Golf Club member represented Australia in the World Amateur Team Championship and the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific in 2022, and also chalked up a victory on the US college circuit at the NCAA Stillwater Regional. Since that triumph, Hinson-Tolchard has produced five further top-10 finishes on the college circuit, including in her two most recent starts.

“I’m absolutely over the moon to be a recipient of Karrie’s scholarship,” Hinson-Tolchard said. “This has been a goal of mine for so long and the hard work is paying off. I’m excited to spend some more time with Karrie and learn from her. This is going to be an amazing opportunity to help me moving forward.”

Queenslander Bosio, 19, finished top of the Karrie Webb Series standings – which includes amateur and professional events throughout the Australian season – after a string of impressive performances. At 61st in the World Amateur Golf Rankings, she is the nation’s top-ranked female golfer.

The Karrie Webb Scholarship dates back to 2008 with past recipients including Major champions Minjee Lee and Hannah Green, LPGA Tour players Su Oh, Grace Kim and Karis Davidson, and WA’s Ladies European Tour rookie Kirsten Rudgeley, who was awarded the scholarship in 2021 and 2022.

A version of this article first appeared on the Golf Australia website.