Curtain falls on 2023 Crunch&Sip Junior Tour

18th Dec 2023

Crunch&Sip Junior Tour

Lake Karrinyup Country Club hosted the final event of the 2023 Crunch&Sip Junior Tour, which saw prizes awarded to the season’s Order of Merit winners.

The traditional end-of-year competition offers Junior Tour players the rare opportunity to golf at the prestigious venue, as well as acting as a celebration of the successes of juniors at different stages of their golfing journeys.

For newer players, the shortened Tiger Tees competitions feature both five- and nine-hole divisions. In these, the 2023 Order of Merit champions are Aiden Nel (5-hole) and Jonus Bobusic (9-hole), who both displayed superb consistency in the six events they teed up in.

For those with a little more experience under their belts, juniors graduate to the Modified Stroke and Stableford categories over nine holes, which are always closely contested.

The Order of Merit champions for 2023 are Allayna Engel (Modified Stroke) and Giselle Tan (Stableford), who played 10 and seven events respectively.

The winners on the day were Allayna Engel, who narrowly pipped Josh O’Hare and Charlie Corrie in the Modified Stroke contest, while Hayley Rasmussen won the Stableford event ahead of Jenna Phoon and Owen Spedding.

Junior Tour numbers on the up

In a blockbuster year for the Junior Tour, 15 events were held between January and December, with 224 individual players returning more than 900 competitive rounds between them. On average, more than 60 players competed in each event – with some events attracting more than 80 juniors.

In signing the tour off for another year, Jordan McSkimming, GolfWA’s Junior Development Officer, said: “I am so proud of every player’s progression and successes throughout the year. I am always so impressed by the abilities and temperaments shown by our young golfers.”

“My thanks go to all our players, parents and host venues for their support throughout the year, and also to Crunch&Sip, whose funding makes the Junior Tour possible.”

2023 Crunch&Sip Junior Tour Order of Merit results

Five-hole Tiger Tees
1st = Aiden Nel
2nd = Monty Frew-Stone
3rd = Aston Evans

Nine-hole Tiger Tees
1st = Jonas Bobusic
2nd = Sunny Needs
3rd = Alexandra Fleming

Modified Stroke
1st = Allayna Engel
2nd = LeBron Vaiimene
3rd = Josh O’Hare

1st = Giselle Tan
2nd = Nathan Budimuljono
3rd = Jenna Phoon

The full Order of Merit tables can be viewed here.


Crunch&Sip Junior Tour

From left, Order of Merit winners Aiden Nel, Jonus Bobusic, Allayna Engel and Giselle Tan