WA Junior State Teams Announced

6th Mar 2018

GolfWA has announced its Boys’ and Girls’ representative teams for next month’s Australian Junior Interstate Series in Perth, with Connor Fewkes and Maddison Hinson-Tolchard set to lead the sides during the national event.

The tournaments are Australia’s Premier Junior Amateur Team Golf Championships and take place from April 15-19.

Western Australia has listed two six-member teams, plus two development players for the home tournament, with a host of names returning for a second year.

The girls’ competition will run from April 15-17 at Royal Perth Golf Club, with the WA team headlined by prodigious WA Amateur winner Kirsten Rudgeley.

The boys’ side will be searching for back-to-back titles after securing the Championship for the first time in 17 years last campaign.

The competition will take place from April 16-19 at Hartfield Golf Club, with Australian Amateur Quarter-Finalist Josh Greer included as well as a host of talented names for the title defence.

Joondalup member Greer will be joined by skipper Fewkes (Goldfields), Hayden Hopewell (Royal Fremantle), Adam Brady (The Vines), Josh Herrero (Mandurah), and Cooper Geddes (Mandurah.

Jordan Jung (Melville Glades) and Zane Lewis (Royal Fremantle) are set to be included as development players, with the duo representing Western Australia for the first time.

The girl’s team remains largely unchanged from last year, with Rudgeley (Wanneroo), Hinson-Tolchard (Gosnells), Abbie Teasedale (Royal Fremantle), Eve Cohen (Mount Lawley) and Kathryn Norris (Mandurah) all returning for another crack at the team’s competition.

Yeah-Jin Lee (Royal Perth) is the only inclusion into the strong side, with Brooke Price (The Vines) added as a development player.

The Western Australian girls’ last captured the Interstate Teams title in 2005.

GolfWA High Performance Coordinator Fritz Arnold said: “The current crop of junior talent in Western Australia is very promising, and I have no doubt that the teams selected to represent our state will produce successful results throughout the Interstate Matches,” Arnold said.

“The boys’ are reigning champions from the series in NSW last year, and I am sure they have the capability and confidence to go back-to-back after breaking the 17-year drought last year.

“Both teams have only changed minimally since last year and are playing at home here in WA, so they have a great opportunity to build upon last year’s results.

“The girls will look to improve on last year, and given the current form of the team and the home ground advantage of Royal Perth, they’re sure to do WA proud.

“Our entire squad has trained hard over the summer and have been diligent in their practice and processes and I am confident they will produce Western Australian success in the upcoming teams’ series.”

Tony McSkimming will coach the boys’ side with Arnold and Matt Nelson taking up the managerial duties.

Kerrod Gray will take charge of the girls’ team, with Hayley Bettencourt featuring as the manager.

All 15 members from the boys’ and girls’ teams will also compete in the Australian Junior Amateur Championships, which take place at Gosnells Golf Club (Boys) and Royal Perth Golf Club (Girls) from April 11-13.



Kathryn Norris (Mandurah)

Abbie Teasdale (Royal Fremantle)

Eve Cohen (Mt Lawley)

Kirsten Rudgeley (Wanneroo)

Maddison Hilson-Tolchard (Gosnells)-Captain

Yeah-Jin Lee (Royal Perth)

Development Player:

Brooke Price (The Vines)


Coach: Kerrod Gray

Manager: Hayley Bettencourt



Josh Greer (Joondalup)

Connor Fewkes (Goldfields) – Captain

Hayden Hopewell (Royal Fremantle)

Adam Brady (The Vines)

Josh Herrero (Mandurah)

Cooper Geddes (Mandurah)

Development Players:

Jordan Jung (Melville Glades)

Zane Lewis (Royal Fremantle)


Coach: Tony McSkimming

Manager: Fritz Arnold & Matt Nelson