WA Golf Industry Award winners announced at Gala Dinner

26th Feb 2014

The WA Golf Industry Gala Dinner was held on Friday night as WA Golf’s dignitaries descended on Crown Casino in Burswood to showcase the efforts of the individuals and golf facilities over the past 12 months.

One of the marquee awards of the night for Outstanding Golf Achievement was won by Brett Rumford, whose back to back victories on the European Tour highlighted a tremendous year where he finished 17th on the European Tour order of merit.

Rumford was gracious in the acceptance of his award, thanking his family and caddy and saying his award symbolised the cumulative efforts of everyone in WA golf throughout the year.

Lake Karrinyup superintendent Trevor Strachan received the other major award, winning the WA Golf Industry Recognition Award for his work that began as a green keeper at Melville Glades in the 1970s. Strachan has worked as a superintendent on a vast majority of Perth’s major golf tournaments over the years, including The Vines Classic, The Johnny Walker Classic and both runnings of the Perth International.

For facility of the year, Royal Perth won the metropolitan award while Kalgoorlie Golf Course and Goldfields Golf Club won the regional award.

The night was also highlighted by the graduation of eight PGA Trainee Professionals, as the Chairman of the PGA WA/NT Rob Farley accepted Ackzel Donaldson (Mount Lawley), Kerrod Gray (Nedlands), Troy Murphy (Pinjarra), Gavin Reed (Royal Perth), Brenton Haines (Collier Park), Glenn Paul (Gosnells), Paul Fenton (Whaleback), Luke Bucknall (Links Kennedy Bay) as full members of the PGA of Australia.

L-R Presenting: Joe O’Dea (Manager Director Bowra & O’Dea), Nominees Present: Hillary Cole (Royal Fremantle), Andrew Morris (Sun City), Sue Thomson (Mount Lawley), Mark Baroni (Goldfields), Dr John Taylor (Lake Karirnyup), Absent: Ross Quartermaine (Mandurah)

WA Golf Industry Recognition Award: Trevor Strachan
Outstanding Golf Achievement Award: Brett Rumford
Metropolitan Golf Facility of the Year: Royal Perth Golf Club. Nominated: Mandurah, Secrets Golf and The Western Australian Golf Club.
Regional Golf Facility of the Year: Kalgoorlie Golf Course & Goldfields Golf Club. Nominated: Albany, Spalding Park
Superintendent of the Year: Nick Price (The Cut). Nominated: Matt Schwarzbach (Carramar), Paul Needham (Kwinana), Brad Anderson (Sun City), Trevor Strahan (Lake Karrinyup).
Hilary Lawler PGA Professional of the Year: Michael Bratovich (Gosnells). Nominated: Robert Farley (Marangaroo), Nigel Williams (WAGC, Maylands, Peninsula, Embelton & Rottnest Island)
PGA Teaching Professional of the Year: Richie Smith (Melville Glades). Nominated: Andy Mowatt (Royal Fremantle), George Campbell (David Milne Golf Academy)
PGA Tournament of the Year: Mitchell & Brown Spalding Park Open. Nominated: Spalding Park Open, Nexus South West Open, WA Goldfields PGA Championship
Metropolitan Golf Course of the Year: Kwinana. Nominated: Royal Fremantle.
Regional Golf Course of the Year: Kalgoorlie Golf Course. Nominated: Kalgoorlie, Busselton, Bunbury.
Outstanding Game Development of the Year Award: Mark Baroni of Goldfields Golf Club. Nominated: Gary Colquhoun (Mandurah), George Campbell (David Milne Golf Academy), Nick d’Avoine (Lake Karrinyup), Donna Crouch (Maylands)
Volunteer of the Year: Hiliary Cole (Royal Fremantle) & Diane Smith (Bridgetown). Nominated: Mark Baroni (Goldfields), Sue Thomson (Mount Lawley), Ross Quartermaine (Mandurah), Andrew Morris (Sun City), Dr John Taylor (Lake Karirnyup)
Employee of the Year: Kymm Sweeting (Royal Perth). Nominated: Rebecca Smith (Melville Glades), Nick Price (The Cut)
Apprentice of the Year: Chris Varty (Gosnells). Nominated: Scott Burden (Sanctuary), Chris Dane (Kalgoorlie), Bryce Pickersgill (Royal Perth).
PGA Pro-Am of the Year: BHP Billiton Golf Classic (Port Hedland Golf Club). Nominated: LJ Hooker Thinkwater Karratha Pro-Am, Westline Furniture International Pro-Am (Lakelands Country Club).

The Golf WA Industry Gala Dinner would like to thank the following supporting sponsors.