Royal Perth & WAGC collect Pennant titles

25th Jun 2018

Royal Perth and The Western Australian Golf Club have captured the remaining Women’s Pennant titles after an exciting final day of competition at Wanneroo Golf Club on Monday.

With Mount Lawley securing their third successive title yesterday in Division 1, attention turned to the finals of Division 2 and 3 at the picturesque course north of Perth.

Royal Perth completed the ‘perfect’ season in Division 2 going the entire campaign without losing a fixture, culminating in a final victory over Melville Glades 4-3.

Judy Malone began the day in the best possible fashion with a tightly contested 3&2 victory over Melville Glade’s Bev Hayes.

Judy Mitchell furthered the advantage with a narrow 1up victory to extend the lead of Royal Perth, before Lyn Gould and Sue Hoare rounded out a convincing victory.

Leanne McVey and Shirley Van Der Brugghen fought right until the end for their side, winning the final two matches alongside Mai Julius.

The win completes a fantastic two days for Royal Perth with the club competing hard in yesterday’s Division 1 Final, eventually falling 4-3 to Mount Lawley.

Royal Perth have now taken out successive Pennant title flags after winning the Division 3 competition in 2017.

The WA Golf Club continued their winning ways after collecting the Division 3 Pennant title on Monday, meaning the club has won three of a possible six titles in 2018.

Despite finishing second during the regular season, WA Golf Club showed their class throughout the final against Joondalup, defeating the side 5-2.

Carolyn Robinson struck first for Joondalup with a commanding 6&4 victory over Teresa Smart, however Lisa Rich earned WAGC’s first points of the morning with a 7&6 win.

From there it was all The Western Australian Golf Club.

Jenny Fallows and Yoon Sook Lee played out a thrilling fixture, with WAGC’s Fallows narrowing prevailing 1up.

Lynette Clohessy and Judith Holm kept the momentum for their side gaining valuable victories at no.3 and 4.

With the title already sealed Lyn Cooper finished off the day with a 4&3 win.

The Women’s Pennant season now comes to a close for 2018.


  • Division 6: The Western Australian Golf Club
  • Division 5: Royal Fremantle Golf Club
  • Division 4: The Western Australian Golf Club
  • Division 3: The Western Australian Golf Club
  • Division 2: Royal Perth Golf Club
  • Division 1: Mount Lawley Golf Club