2019 SSWA Primary Schools GolfWA Championships

26th Jun 2019

Clear blue skies greeted the field of eager juniors who arrived at Kwinana Golf Club ready to represent their schools in the 2019 School Sport WA GolfWA Primary Championships.

The annual championship sees students from years 2-6 and 35 schools compete for both team and individual honours over 9 holes.

The Wesley College team of Hunter Woodley-Page and Spencer Harrison took out overall honours winning the Primary School Shield with a combined Stableford score of 34. Wesley College’s Hunter Woodley-Page also captured the Individual Boys’ Stableford competition with a fantastic score of 20.

Nariko McDonnell (St Munchin’s Catholic School) won the Girls’ Stableford competition with a phenomenal round that netted her 22 points. Como Primary School student, Isabella Leniartek came a close second with 19 points.

Aubin Grove Primary School students Jay Deoskar and Connor Pearson captured the Modified Stroke Shield with a combined total of 92.

Jay Deoskar played some incredible golf to shoot a round of 41 and dominate the Individual Modified Stroke competition. Jay is a regular on the Smarter than Smoking GolfWA Junior Tour and he is one to keep an eye out for in the future.

Sienna Scopinich (Calista PS) and Kimberley Innes (Parkwood PS) topped the table in the Girls’ Modified Stroke. Both girls recorded competitive scores of 52. Innes would eventually finish in first place after a tight countback.

Sue Thomson should be commended for her help in organising the event as well as the voluntary work she does with SSWA. Thanks also to Como Secondary College coordinator Adam Smith for his tireless work and effort. Adam coordinated the seven Como Golf Academy students who came along to chaperone some of our groups.

The School Sport WA GolfWA Primary School Championships is an ever-growing event and a wonderful opportunity for our young golfers to represent their school.

Individual Scores | Team Scores