State Representation

State Teams

GolfWA is represented by a junior, open and senior team across respective events on the national calendar. At the annual Interstate Teams’ Matches, Open and Junior teams compete in a match play format against the various states and territories, vying for the national title. For the Senior Team, they represent WA at the Australian Senior Amateur in a stroke play format.

Due to COVID-19 and related guidelines, in the interest of all athletes, coaches, managers and staff, Golf Australia has decided to cancel the 2020 Australian Junior Amateur, the 2020 Junior Interstate Series and the 2020 Men’s and Women’s Interstate Series.

A decision on the 2020 Australian Senior Amateur Championship has not yet been made.

Junior State Team

Consisting of four boys and four girls under the age of 18 selected to represent the state at the Australian Junior’ Championship and Junior’ Interstate Matches scheduled across the April school holidays. Both events rotate across various states and golf courses on an annual basis. Junior Team Selection is made within the guidelines and criteria of the selection philosophy found in the GolfWA HP Policy.

In the case of the Junior Interstate Teams, as the teams were selected and announced prior to the cancellation announcement, despite not having the opportunity to and play and wear the black and gold, the following names are the recognized 2020 WA Boys’ and Girls’ State Teams:

Canberra – 2020 Boys’ Interstate Series CANCELLED

Coach: Kerrod Gray

Manager: Shaun Malone (Mount Lawley)

Adam Brady – Captain

Carter Mealing

Jordan Jung

Josiah Gilbert

Tom Addy

Aldrich Potgieter

Adelaide – 2020 Girls’ Interstate Series CANCELLED

Coach: Alex McKay

Manager: Madeline Baxter (Lake Karrinyup)

Abbie Teasdale – Captain

Ruby Fry

Amie Phobubpa

Erina Tan

Sheridan Clancy

Yeah-Jin Lee

Men’s and Women’s State Team

A combined open age team that represents the state at the Men’s and Women’s Interstate Teams Matches. The representative team is made of four men and four women who compete together as one team for the title of Australian Interstate Champion. The event generally takes place in the second week of May, contested at one golf course which is rotated across states on an annual basis. Team Selection is made within the guidelines and criteria of the selection philosophy found in the GolfWA HP Policy.

The announcement of cancellation was made prior to the selection of the 2020 Men’s and Women’s Team, therefore Golf WA will not select a representative team for 2020.

GolfWA HP Policy

Senior State Team

At the conclusion of the WA Senior Ranking Event season, the top three Men and two Women earn their position within the team. The highest Men’s and Women’s Western Australian finisher at the WA Senior Amateur also earns a place as they compete for the black and gold at the Australian Senior Championship.

2019 Senior Representatives


  • Trevor Hughes
  • Michael Dunsmore
  • John Ryan
  • Evan Sewell


  • Sharon Dawson
  • Carmen Palframan
  • Robyn Lamb