The fantastic team of West Aussie kids competing in the 2021 Australian Junior Championship are certainly doing us proud.  Tomorrow brings the final round of this 54-hole stroke event in ACT and our eyes will be on Lake Karrinyup’s Sheridan Clancy, sitting in overall second position behind Victorian Jeneath Wong.   

Clancy is four strokes in the clear of her closest challenger, and will need a strong fighting spirit tomorrow to chase down the leader for the 2021 title.  Lucky for us, we know she has that spirit in spades. Sheridan dominates the leaderboard in the Under 16 Girl’s category,  with a six stroke lead over NSW’s Ella Scaysbrook. A strong performance tomorrow will be the icing on the cake for Clancy’s birthday week celebration. 

Post today’s round Sheridan shared, “my game has been pretty good, but handling the wind has been really tough.  You have to think things through ten fold to consider the wind,  particularly in the afternoon. My second shots into green are just critical.  The greens are so narrow and you have to be so accurate with your shots. It is a really pretty course and certainly challenging. I am really pleased for WA. Everyone here has played well and to have so many of us make the cut is awesome.   Tomorrow I’ll just play my own game and keep confident.”

2021 WA Amateur Champion, Aldrich Potgieter, has been consistent in the top tier of the Boy’s Championship, and heads into the final round T5 at 2-under.  Aldrich will have a challenge on his hands tomorrow to chase down the 7-under competition leader NSW’s Jye Halls. Halls was leading by an outstanding four strokes during the early stages of today’s round, however carded his first double bogey for the tournament on hole 8.  Halls finished by dropping shots on 17 and 18, narrowing his lead to only one stroke over fellow New South Welshman, Jeffrey Guan.

Potgieter and Clancy have both had eagles on the challenging Gold Creek Country Club course this week, and given their form of late the Boy’s and Girl’s Championship titles are well within their reach.  

Joondalup’s Amie Phobubpa and Celine Chen have both performed solidly, sitting in T5, and T17 going into the final round.  Mount Lawley’s Joe Buttress sits narrowly ahead of Gosnells’ Josiah Gilbert at T13 and T16 respectively.  

Former winners of the Australian Boys’ title include Peter O’Malley, Robert Allenby, Stuart Appleby, Cameron Smith, Adam Scott and Ryan Ruffels.  The Australian Girls’ trophy has been won recently by LPGA Tour players Sarah Kemp, Sarah Jane Smith, Su Oh and WA’s own Minjee Lee.

Best of luck to all the WA Juniors competing tomorrow.  Supporters from the west can watch the scores live on


Photo credit: Golf NSW David Tease