Lake Karrinyup will bid to reassert their dominance over the Women’s Pennants competition when they meet Mount Lawley in a re-match of last season’s final.

Lake Karrinyup have won seven of the past 10 women’s top-flight titles and will be out to exact revenge on Mount Lawley, who claimed a narrow 4-3 win in last year’s decider when Hannah Green claimed the final point.

Green has since turned professional, and proved her quality on the Symetra Tour in the United States, but Lake Karrinyup will go into Sunday’s final at Royal Perth as slight favourites after topping the ladder.

A 7-0 sweep of Mandurah last weekend confirmed top billing and more importantly ensured they remained in stellar form ahead of the showpiece match of the year.

Lake Karrinyup will take heart too in the fact they defeated Mount Lawley 5-2 during the round-robin phase, although the champions were without state team duo Kirsten Rudgeley and Alysha Ahnantakrishnan as they prepared for the Interstate Series.

Both Rudgeley and Ahnantakrishnan claimed wins during last year’s final and are again set to be an important part of Mount Lawley’s quest to win just their third women’s Division One pennant in a competition that has existed since 1925.

Mount Lawley had to wait nervously to find out whether they would reach the final, howewer, during Sunday’s final round as fast-finishing Royal Fremantle threatened to snatch away their place.

Boasting a squad including Abbie Teasdale and Jess Whitting, Royal Freo pieced together a four-game winning streak – during which they beat all the teams in the top half – to end the season.

But Sunday’s 4-3 win over Royal Perth was not emphatic enough to unseat Mount Lawley, who were absent from the final round as hosts, in second place.

WA Golf Club ended their campaign with a 6-1 victory over Cottesloe to confirm they finished ahead of them in fifth place.

Melville Glades confirmed their place in the Division Two final against Wanneroo, which will be played at Mosman Park on Monday, June 26.

A 6-1 win over third-placed Lake Karrinyup was more than enough for Melville Glades to book their place in the decider as Shirley van der Brugghen completed her own unbeaten season with a fifth win from five attempts.

Division Four champions – WA Golf Club

Van der Brugghen was absent when Melville Glades were beaten 5-2 by Wanneroo during the round-robin stage on May 29.

Wanneroo warmed up for the final with a 5-2 success over Royal Fremantle – with Georgia Shears, Judith Higgott, Loraine Metcalf, Helen Pullinger and Jan Plaisted securing wins – as they finished top with a perfect six wins from six matches.

Gosnells will bid to go one better than last year after booking their place in the Division Three final with a 6-1 victory against Melville Glades at Royal Perth.

The size of Gosnells’ win shut the door on Cottesloe’s hopes to usurp them, despite their own 5-2 win over Joondalup, and book a final meeting against Royal Perth, also at Mosman Park next Monday.

Gosnells were beaten 4.5-2.5 by Royal Fremantle in the Division Three final last season with Ros Fisher, Lyn Bennett, Kymberley Wilson, Jo Calvo and Lyn Johnston all involved this year from the team that played in that decider.

WA Golf Club ended their Divisions Three season with a 5.5-1.5 win over Lakelands, to finish in fourth place, but there was reason for the Yokine-based club to celebrate a day later when they were presented with the Division Four pennant.

Division Five champions – Lake Karrinyup Golf Club

The title had already been wrapped up ahead of the final round – there are no finals in the bottom three divisions – and while WA Golf Club halved their final match with Royal Fremantle they still finished two wins clear of the chasing pack.

Jan Graham, Sue Lancey, Anne Holt, Gaye Hayes, Glenda Anderson, Johnnie James and Marjorie Dohnt were in action for the newly-crowned champions on Monday.

Lake Karrinyup will already have won women’s pennant locked away before this weekend’s Division One final after they were victorious in Division Five.

A 4-5-2.5 victory over Royal Fremantle ensured that Lake Karrinyup could not be caught as Jane Abbott, Mandy O’Shea, Jill Dorrington and Jan King claimed wins alongside Rosie Ongley, Jenny Simpson and Rose Fowler.

Division Six champions – Cottesloe Golf Club

Wanneroo clinched second place with a 4.5-2.5 win against Nedlands while Joondalup and Mount Lawley halved their contest.

Cottesloe clinched a closely-fought Division Six title after halving their final-round contest against Sea View.

Cott entered the final round knowing they just needed to take something against the near neighbours, who were on home turf, and they just managed to get the job done thanks to Joy Davis, Sophie Dwyer, Anne Hanthorne, Caro Cunningham, Angela Anderson, Julia Rance and Jean Bannister.

Wanneroo finished a point adrift of the champions after defeating Lakelands 4.5-2.5 while Nedlands finished with a 5-2 success over Mount Lawley.


:: GolfWA is looking for new ways to grow the game at every level in the state and you can help by simply following us on social media. Please click on any of the links below and like us! 

Facebook I Twitter I Instagram

Tags:  ,