Aglime State Sand Greens – Archive


2017   I   2016-


The Western Australian State Sand Greens Championship has been held throughout the WA regional area since 1981. ‘The Sand Greens’ as it is affectionately known, has been held at 28 different courses with Boyup Brook, Katanning, Wongan Hills, Goomalling, Narrogin, Northam and Moora Lake View the only other courses to hold the Championship on two occasions.

The championship attracts players from all over the state with some of the WA’s most decorated players having taken out the Sand Greens title. Michael Dennis is the most successful players at the tournament as a six-time winner while Adam Davey has claimed the winner’s shield on four occasions.

Wayne Edwards is the only player to have claimed a hat-trick of titles, from 1985-87, and is one of just three players to successfully defend the title along with Dennis and Brett Mollison.

In what is celebrated as a festival of country golf, the championship is preceded by the traditional 4BBB Stableford competition on Friday and the ever popular Super Scroungers event on Thursday which always provides a great warm-up for players playing the course for the first time.