Lakelands watched on as they were confirmed as Men’s Senior Individual Pennants Division One champions following the final round of matches on Tuesday.

The Gnangara-based club hosted the final round of matches, so they were not in action, but a few of team were in attendance as they waited to discover whether Wanneroo would snatch away the title.

Wanneroo had needed a wide-margin victory over the previously winless Lake Karrinyup to be crowned champions – a year after winning the Division Two title – but were beaten 3.5-1.5.

Peter Robinson, Brendan Milburn and John Hanley claimed the wins that ultimately handed a deserved pennant to Lakelands following their unbeaten season.


(L-R): Walter Andrews, Paul Jacobs, Peter Beavis, David Love, Tom Colella, Martin Minogue, Brett Gossage, Gary Scheckter and Terry Holtzman

Martin Minogue was an ever-present during Lakelands’ run to the title this season playing alongside Gary Scheckter, Brett Gossage, Terry Holtzman, Tom Colella, Paul Jacobs, Walter Andrews, David Love and Peter Beavis.

Last year’s champions Hartfield profited from Wanneroo’s final-day slip to sneak ahead of them into second place thanks to a 4.5-0.5 win over Joondalup.

WA Golf Club took home the Division Two title to make up for the disappointment of narrowly missing out last season.

They headed into the final round at Royal Perth knowing that a win over neighbours Mount Lawley would secure the title, and promotion to Division One next season, and they duly obliged with a 3.5-1.5 win.

(L-R) Neville Delane, Greg Sandeman, Craig Wilkinson, Sean Niven and Ron Giudici. (Front) Peter Field

Greg Sandeman, Neville Delane and Sean Niven all secured 2&1 wins to celebrate winning the pennant alongside Craig Wilkinson, Ron Giudici and Peter Field.

Chas Sabato and Gary Swann also played their parts in the title-winning season.

Cottesloe finished in second place, a point behind WA Golf Club, following their 4-1 win over The Vines on Monday.

Melville Glades finished on four points, along with Royal Perth and Mount Lawley, after they defeated the final-round hosts 3-2.

Tags:  , ,